OPEN MON - WED 5:00 pm to 1:00 am.
THUR - SAT 5:00 pm to 2:00 am.
CLOSED ON SUNDAYS - More Info call us at (209) 383-KEWL

Get Home Safe

Kewl Cats Cares About Your Safety

Kewl Cats wants all our customers to have a great time AND get home safe. If you feel you are unable to drive please call a friend, a taxi, or stay the night in one of the nearby motels. Taxi cab fare or even a motel room is way cheaper than a DUI or even worse an accident! Check out these resources that can help you!!

Merced Taxi Services

taxiMerced Taxi
209-722-8294

taxiYellow Cab
209-723-0000

Merced The Bus

DocumentThe Bus, Merced’s Regional Transit System, was formed from the consolidation of four former local public transit service providers in July 1996. Today “The Bus” is the single public transportation service provider for all of Merced County. CLICK HERE FOR THE MOTEL DRIVE ROUTE AND KEWL CATS!

 

Nearby Motels

Below is a list of Motels in our area ready to accommodate you in case you had way to much fun and need a way to recover safely. Click each logo for a google map!

America’s Best Inns & Suites
1199 Motel Dr –  Merced, Ca.
209-722-2726
Courtyard
750 Motel Dr – Merced, Ca.
209-725-1221
Rodeway Inn
1001 Motel Dr – Merced, Ca.
209-723-1034

hotel_03 hotel_05
Best Western
1033 Motel Dr –  Merced, Ca.
209-723-2163
Comfort Inn
730 Motel Dr – Merced, Ca.
209-383-0333
Pacific Express Inn
951 Motel Dr – Merced, Ca.
209-722-3926
hotel_02 hotel_04 hotel_06

California DUI Penalties

Each year, countless California drivers are arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, or DUI. Unfortunately, if you are one of these individuals, you face a number of severe criminal penalties if you are convicted of the offense. In fact, with the state’s tough sentencing guidelines, California DUI penalties are some of the strictest in the nation.

Like every other state, it is against the law to operate a motor vehicle on California roads if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or higher. As a result, any person caught driving with a BAC above this percentage is considered legally impaired—regardless of his or her ability to drive. However, state law also prohibits underage motorists (those under 21) from driving with any amount of alcohol in their system at all (a BAC above 0.00%), while commercial drivers are deemed impaired with a BAC of 0.04% or higher.

It is important to know that, due to the state’s Implied Consent Law, you can also be arrested for DUI if you refuse to submit a breath, blood, or urine sample to a law enforcement officer so that he or she can determine your exact BAC—a process known as chemical testing. If you do not submit to these tests, you can expect to be arrested for driving under the influence.

Regardless of the reason for your arrest, a drunk driving conviction carries a number of penalties, including a fine, license suspension, and jail sentence. Assuming it’s your first offense, the court may impose a fine ranging from $390 to $1,000, as well as suspend your driver’s license for up to four months. Depending on the circumstances, you may also have to spend anywhere from four days to six months behind bars, attend DUI school, perform community service, and/or have a vehicle ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle (a mechanism that requires you to perform a breathalyzer each time you attempt to start your automobile).

If you think the penalties for a first-time DUI offender are tough, consider this: if you have a prior conviction on your record, a second offense carries up to a one-year jail sentence, $1,000 fine, one-year license suspension, and three to five years of probation—and these penalties only increase with each subsequent DUI conviction. You can also expect harsher punishment if you had an extremely high BAC (above 0.15%), were traveling with a passenger under the age of 14, or were driving 20 miles or more above the speed limit at the time of your arrest.

Fortunately, there are a number of ways to challenge a drunk driving arrest. If the officer who stopped you lacked probable cause for pulling you over, for example, your charges may be dismissed. You may even be able to challenge your chemical test results if you suffer from acid reflux disease or used breath mints, mouthwash, or gum shortly before the test was administered.

Overall, the best thing to do is use common sense. We encourage you to come with designated drivers, take taxi’s or take some time to drink some coffee before you head home. Having your business is valuable to us, but keeping you alive and safe is way more important then any dollar amount. Here at Kewl Cats we are all friends and that means we care!

Stay Safe – Stay Alive – Stay Out Of Jail  –  PLEASE Call A Cab!!!

Tuesday Night Trivia!

TUESDAY NIGHT TRIVIA WITH JACOB GOSS!
  • 00Days
  • 00Hour
  • 00Min
  • 00Sec
 

Happy Hour – Monday Thru Saturday 5pm-8pm

Cure midweek blues with our everyday drinks specials!
$2.75 Domestic Beers And More
 

$3.75 Imports during HAPPY HOUR!!!

WHA??? $3.75 Import beers during HAPPY HOUR?!?!
$3.75 IMPORTS